2021 Eclipse Awards Finalists Announced – Horse Racing News


The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB) today announced the finalists for the 2021 Eclipse Awards, recognizing excellence in thoroughbred racing. Winners in 17 horse and human categories will be announced on TVG and other outlets during the 51st Annual Eclipse Awards on Thursday, February 10 at 8 p.m. ET. The evening will culminate with the announcement of the Horse of the Year 2021.

Of the 245 eligible voters represented by the NTRA, comprised of racetrack racing officials and field staff from Equibase, NTWAB and Daily Racing Form, 235 (95.9%) took part in the vote. Finalists were determined in each category by the first three voter selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Prize winners are determined solely by first place votes.

The 2021 Eclipse Awards finalists, excluding Horse of the Year, listed (in alphabetical order) are:

Two-year-old colt: Corniche, Jack Christopher, Modern Games (IRE)

Two-year-old filly: Echo Zulu, Juju’s Map, Pizza Bianca

Three-year-old boy: Essential Quality, Life Is Good, Medina Spirit

Three-year-old filly: Clairiere, Malathaat, Santa Barbara (IRE)

Older Dirt Male: Knicks Go, Maxfield, Mystic Guide

Older Dirt Woman: Letruska, Marche Lorraine (JPN), Shedaresthedevil

Male sprinter: Aloha West, Flightline, Jackie’s Warrior

Female sprinter: Bella Sofia, Ce Ce, Gamine

Male Lawn Horse: Domestic Expenditure (GB), Space Blues (IRE), Yibir (GB)

Female Grass Horse: Loves Only You (JPN), Santa Barbara (IRE), War Like Goddess

Obstacle course horse: Baltimore Bucko (GB), Snap Decision, The Mean Queen (IRE)

Owner: Godolphin LLC, Juddmonte Farms Inc., Klaravich Stables Inc.

Breeder: Calumet Farm, Godolphin LLC, Stonestreet Thoroughbred Holdings LLC

Coach: Steve Asmussen, Chad Brown, Brad Cox

Jockey: Irad Ortiz, Jr., Flavien Prat, Joel Rosario

Apprentice Jockey: John Hiraldo, Charlie Marquez, Jessica Pyfer

In addition to honoring the 17 winners in the horse and human categories, Justin Mustari will receive the Eclipse Award as 2021 Horseplayer of the Year. Members of the media will be honored for outstanding coverage in six categories.

Voting for the Eclipse Awards is conducted by the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB), the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) and Daily Racing Form. The Eclipse Awards ceremony is hosted by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association.

Eclipse Awards ticket information is available on the NTRA website https://www.ntra.com/eclipse-awards/.

The Eclipse Awards are sponsored by Roberts Communications, Four Roses Bourbon, Daily Racing Form, Breeders’ Cup, FanDuel Group, The Stronach Group, Santa Anita Park, TVG, Dean Dorton, Stonestreet Farm, Keeneland, Racetrack Television Network, Jackson Family Wines, Rood & Riddle Equine Hospital, Hallway Feeds and Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great racehorse and founding father of the 18th century, Eclipse, who started racing at the age of five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight victories. Eclipse has sired winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.


About Author

Comments are closed.