2021 Women’s ID Playoff Awards


The 2021 Women’s Division I season wrapped up last week, with Florida State finishing as national champion.

As tradition has it, TopDrawerSoccer unveils its 2021 playoff awards, highlighting some of the best players of the current season. Taking into consideration conference awards, playoff play, team performance and more, the awards attempt to recognize some of the best players of the fall season.

BYU star Mikayla Colohan clinches Player of the Year award after leading the Cougars to second in the national title game. She scored 20 goals and collected 16 assists in her last campaign at Provo, ending a majestic career. According to games measured by InStat, it created 51 chances, one of the highest scores of any player. She led the best offense in the country, scoring more than three goals per game. Colohan defeated WCC foe Kelsey Turnbow (Santa Clara) and Jaelin Howell (Florida State) for the honor.

Freshman of the Year goes to Duke forward Michelle Cooper. Leading a talented field that included Riley Tiernan (Rutgers), Alexis Missimo (Texas), Trinity Byars (Texas) and Taylor Huff (Tennessee), Cooper helped the Blue Devils reach the quarterfinals of this year’s NCAA tournament. . Named the ACC freshman of the year, the Michigan native has scored 12 goals and collected 5 assists for the Blue Devils this fall. Joining Duke outside of IMG Academy, she took off in Durham this season.

The last individual award of the fall season goes to Mark Krikorian, named coach of the year. Leading Florida State to a 22-1-2 record, the longtime coach guided the FSU to the ACC and NCAA tournament titles. With a second national championship in four seasons and a third overall, Krikorian has proven his ability to consistently win.

Check out the full rewards below.

DI 2021 Women’s Qualifying Awards

Player of the Year: Mikayla Colohan, BYU

Freshman of the Year: Michelle Cooper, Duke

Coach of the Year: Mark Krikorian, State of Florida

Best XI teams

First team

F: Kelsey Turnbow (Santa Clara), Anna Podojil (Arkansas), Miri Taylor (Hofstra)

M: Mikayla Colohan (BYU), Frankie Tagliaferri (Rutgers), Jaelin Howell (Florida State), Bethune Cross (USC)

D: Alia Martin (Michigan), Brandi Peterson (TCU), Emily Madril (Florida State)

GK: Ruthie Jones (Duke)

Second team

F: Cameron Tucker (BYU), Diana Ordonez (Virginia), Messiah Bright (TCU)

M: Parker Goins (Arkansas), Sophie Jones (Duke), Sydny Nasello (South Florida), Tess Boade (Duke)

D: Alexis Loera (Santa Clara), Wrenne French (Tennessee), Gabby Provenzano (Rutgers)

GK: Cristina Roque (State of Florida)

Third team

F: Mia Fishel (UCLA), Brittany Raphino (Brown), Sammi Fisher (Notre Dame)

M: Lia Godfrey (Virginia), Julia Grosso (Texas), Maya Doms (Stanford), Sam Coffey (Penn State)

D: Lauren Flynn (State of Florida), Naomi Girma (Stanford), Sydney Cummings (Georgetown)

GK: Ashley Orkus (Mississippi)

Freshman Best Team XI

First team

F: Michelle Cooper (Duke), Trinity Byars (Texas), Riley Tiernan (Rutgers)

H: Alexis Missimo (Texas), Taylor Huff (Tennessee), Hannah Bebar (Harvard), Korbin Albert (Notre Dame)

D: Lily Reale (UCLA), Jade Rose (Harvard), Kassidy Banks (Rutgers)

GK: Nadia Cooper (Washington State)

Second team

F: Dilary Heredia-Beltran (West Virginia), Simone Jackson (USC), Emily Colton (North Carolina)

H: Andrea Kitahata (Stanford), Nikayla Small (Wake Forest), Ella Rogers (Xavier), Jordan Fusco (Tennessee)

D: Aidan McConnell (Wisconsin), Macy Blackburn (Texas Tech), Brooklyn Courtnall (USC)

GK: Jamie Gerstenberg (Indiana)

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.