33rd Annual GLAAD Media Awards presented May 6 in New York



33rd Annual GLAAD Media Awards presented May 6 in New York

Wilson Cruz and Judith Light are among the winners.

Wilson Cruz

Wilson Cruz (Rent, Star Trek: Discovery, My So-Called Life) will receive the Vito Russo Award at the 33rd Annual GLAAD Media Awards, recognizing media for fair, accurate and inclusive portrayals of LGBTQ people and issues, on May 6 at the Hilton Midtown in New York City.

The Vito Russo Award, named for GLAAD co-founder and ACT UP activist Vito Russo, is awarded to an LGBTQ media professional who has made a significant difference in accelerating LGBTQ acceptance. Previous winners include Billy Porter, Anderson Cooper, Ricky Martin, Rosie O’Donnell, Andy Cohen, RuPaul, Cynthia Nixon, Samira Wiley, Tom Ford, George Takei, Thomas Roberts, Alan Cumming and Suze Orman.

Oscar winner Ariana DeBose will also present Judith Light with GLAAD’s Excellence in Media Award, honoring allies in the LGBTQ community who have made a significant difference in promoting LGBTQ acceptance.

Judith Light

Platoon instructor Cody Rigsby and transgender artist and RuPaul’s Drag Race alum Peppermint hosted the New York ceremony. Special guests include Ivory Aquino, Dyllón Burnside, Laverne Cox, Tommy Dorfman, Murray Hill, Jesse James Keitel, Devin Way, Stephen Dunn, Rafael Silva, Nyle DiMarco, Cynthia Nixon, Anthony Rapp, Lily Rose, Amber Tamblyn and GLAAD President and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis.

The ceremony will also feature Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright and composer Michael R. Jackson in a performance of his new Broadway musical. A strange loop and Emmy-winning Dove Cameron performing her new single “Boyfriend.”

At the April 2 GLAAD ceremony in Los Angeles, Kacey Musgraves received the Vanguard Award from Ben Platt and Michaela Jaé Rodriguez received the Stephen F. Kolzak Award from Andrew Garfield. The Los Angeles ceremony is currently streaming on Hulu.

The GLAAD Media Awards ceremonies fund GLAAD’s work to accelerate LGBTQ acceptance. For a full list of this year’s nominees, click here.


About Author

Comments are closed.