4th Annual Tennessee Music Awards Highlight State Talent


JACKSON, Tenn. — The University of Memphis Lambuth hosted its 4th annual Tennessee Music Awards.

“Due to the pandemic, we didn’t have any last year. So this is a combination of the 2020-2021 awards that we give to independent artists across the state of Tennessee,” said Dr. Jeremy Tubbs, director of music and entertainment at the University of Memphis. Lambuth.

Tubbs says this event is something the university looks forward to every year.

The evening includes various musical groups performing and various prizes are awarded to those in various categories.

And Tubbs says they’re voted on by people across the state.

“The voting process gives us thousands and thousands of categories and genres, gives us the top three or five, and then those five go to another vote. So they actually have five choices. So it’s a month of nominations and about a month of voting,” Tubbs said.

Tubbs says it gives insight into the wide array of talent across the state.

“We have two great musical cities in the same state. There aren’t too many other places in the world that can say that. When you think of England, it’s London. If you think of New York, it’s New York. You think California, it’s LA. You’ve got the only place, but here we have Memphis and Nashville, and we’re right in between, so we’ve got a lot of talent. A lot,” Tubbs said.

He says that night each year represents an abundance of things not only for the Jackson community, but for others as well.

“We are here to celebrate what we do. We’re here to celebrate music, the art of music, the people who make music, young and old, whatever. Black, white, Asian, whatever. We are all here to celebrate together,” Tubbs said.

  • Artist of the Year: A Band of Jones
  • Male Vocalist of the Year: Will Burton
  • Singer of the Year: Liza Smith
  • American Artist of the Year: Hunter Cross
  • Blues Artist of the Year: Tyler Goodson
  • Bluegrass Artist of the Year: No Time Flatt
  • Choir of the Year: Lexington High School
  • Inspirational Artist of the Year: Chelsea Rhodes
  • Country Artist of the Year: A Band of Jones
  • Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year: Runaway Rocketship
  • Indie/Roots Artist of the Year: Hunter Cross
  • Marching Band of the Year: Lexington High School
  • Metal Artist of the Year: After Eden
  • Rock Artist of the Year: One Nyte Stand
  • Guitarist of the Year: Ian Bennett
  • Bassist of the Year: Mark Crawford
  • Drummer of the Year: Josh Weaver
  • Keyboardist of the Year: Luke Comer
  • Producer of the Year: Wes Henley
  • Music Video of the Year: “Does It Have Radio” – A Band of Jones
  • Song of the Year: “Does It Have Radio” – A Band of Jones
  • Songwriter of the Year: Chelsea Rhodes
  • Album of the Year: Whiskey & Whitley Bryan Moffitt
  • Radio Station of the Year: WYN 106.9
  • Radio Disc Jockey of the Year: Julie Cooke
  • Magazine of the Year: VIP Jackson
  • Venue (West TN) of the Year: Redbones
  • Venue (Middle TN) of the Year: Bluebird Cafe
  • Venue (East TN) of the Year: Ole Red Gatlinburg
  • Lifetime Achievement Award 2022: Chuck McGill and Paula Bridges McGill (two separate awards)


About Author

Comments are closed.