American Song Contest: Release date, contestants and everything you need to know about NBC’s New Reality contest


For decades, America lived in the shadow of Eurovision Song Contest, an international songwriting competition in which musicians representing countries across Europe compete in a wacky contest of Olympic-style original music. Well no more! In fact, America doesn’t even need other countries with NBC’s new series American song contestwhich draws artists from each of the 50 states plus a few extras to battle it out for Best Original Song, and all the fame and fortune that comes with it.

But will NBC’s big bet translate to us Yankees? Will the interstate rivalries (suck, Washington!) be big enough to attract viewers? We won’t know until it airs, but until then, here’s everything we know about American song contest.

Snoop Dogg and Kelly Clarkson American song contest


American song contest Release date and final date

In its inaugural season, American song contest will premiere on Monday, March 21 at 8/7c on NBC. The first episode of the live music competition will run for two hours, from 8 p.m. to 10 p.m. New episodes will also be two hours long and will air on Mondays, with the finale set to air on Monday, May 9.

Where to watch and stream American song contest

American song contest airs Monday nights at 8 p.m. on NBC. If you miss the episode that night, you can watch it the next day on, Peacock and Hulu, but watch out for spoilers!

Who hosts American song contest?

No big-budget reality show gets the green light without big names as hosts, and NBC has booked Kelly Clarkson and Snoop Dogg (!!) to serve as emcees for American song contest. Clarkson is a multi-hyphenate who rose to fame after winning the first season of american idolhas recorded several number one albums, is currently a coach on The voiceand won multiple Emmys as the daytime talk show host The Kelly Clarkson Show. Snoop Dogg is a renowned rapper from Long Beach, California, is the owner of Death Row Records and co-host Martha and Snoop’s potluck on VH1.

How it works American song contest To work?

American song contest follows the pattern of Eurovisionone of the most popular reality TV competitions in Europe which pits artists from different countries against each other. American song contest takes representatives from each of the 50 states, plus Washington DC and six US territories. Each act will consist of a solo performer or a group of up to six members, and will perform an original song during the qualifying rounds before the winners advance to the semi-finals and then the final.

The winners will be determined by a fan/audience vote and a jury of music professionals. The vote is weighted to give each state equal voting power. It’s not about winning the popular vote, it’s about winning as many states as possible, and the system prevents more populous states, like California and Texas, from dominating the vote.

Eurovision is famous for its spectacle, with elaborate sets and costumes, and American song contest brings that vibe. Performers are encouraged not just to write a hit song, but to pull off a great, memorable visual performance.

American song contest Trailer

NBC released a teaser for American song contest during this year’s Super Bowl.

American song contest Competitors for each state and territory

On March 3, NBC released contestants from every U.S. state, U.S. territory, and Washington DC, for a total of 56 acts competing for the Best Original Song award. As promised, it’s a combination of well-known acts, like Jewel (Alaska), Michael Bolton (Connecticut) and Macy Gray (Ohio), and others you’ve probably never heard of.

Here is the full list:

  • Alabama: Ni/Co
  • Alaska: Gem
  • American Samoa: Tenelle
  • Arizona: Las Marias
  • Arkansas: Kelsey Lamb
  • California: sweet taboo
  • Colorado: Riker Lynch
  • Connecticut: Michael Bolton
  • Delaware: NitroNitra
  • Florida: Ale Zabala
  • Georgia: Stela Cole
  • Guam: Jason J.
  • Hawaii: Bronson Varde
  • Idaho: Andrew Sheppard
  • Illinois: Justin Jesso
  • Indiana: UG skywalkin
  • Iowa: Elizabeth Von Presley
  • Kansas: Broderick Jones
  • Kentucky: Jordan Smith
  • Louisiana: Brittany Pfantz
  • Maine: King Kyote
  • Maryland: Sisqo
  • Massachusetts: Jared Lee
  • Michigan: Ada LeAnn
  • Minnesota: Yamhaus
  • Mississippi: Keyone Starr
  • Missouri: Brett Seper
  • Montana: Jonah Prill
  • Nebraska: Jocelyne
  • Nevada: The Crystal Method
  • New Hampshire: MARi
  • New Jersey: Brooke Alexx
  • New Mexico: Khalisol
  • New York: ENISA
  • North Carolina: John Morgan
  • North Dakota: Chloe Fredericks
  • Northern Mariana Islands: Sabyu
  • Ohio: Macy Gray
  • Oklahoma: Alexa
  • Oregon: courtship display.
  • Pennsylvania: Bri Steves
  • Puerto Rico: Christian Pagan
  • Rhode Island: Houston
  • South Carolina: Jesse LeProtti
  • South Dakota: Judd Hoos
  • Tennessee: Tyler Braden
  • Texas: Grant Knoche
  • US Virgin Islands: Cruz Rock
  • Utah: Savannah Keyes
  • Vermont: Josh Panda
  • Virginia: Almira Zaky
  • Washington: Peter Allen
  • Washington, DC: NËITHER
  • West Virginia: Alexis Cunningham
  • Wisconsin: Jake’O
  • Wyoming: Ryan Charles

Can I get the music from American song contest?

Absoutely. Atlantic Records has partnered with NBC to release the songs featured in the contest, beginning at midnight Eastern Time the nightly episodes air.


About Author

Comments are closed.