Announcing the 2021 WTA Coach of the Year, Player Service and Sportsmanship Award winners


ST PETERSBURG, Fla .– The WTA announced the WTA Coach of the Year on Sunday as well as the winners of the Peachy Kellmeyer Player Service and Karen Krantzcke Sportsmanship Awards.

The WTA Coach of the Year is voted on by members of the WTA Coaching Program, while the Player Service and Sportsmanship Awards are voted on by WTA players.

This year’s winners are:

WTA Coach of the Year: Conchita Martínez (ESP)

Former WTA World No.2 and current coach of Garbiñe Muguruza, Conchita Martínez becomes the fourth recipient of the annual WTA Coach of the Year award. This award recognizes the winning coach for their success on the pitch, but also for serving as an ambassador for the sport and putting training at the forefront of the game.

More awards: WTA 2021 tournament winners | Barty voted player of the year

Previous winners of this award are Sascha Bajin (2018, Naomi Osaka), Craig Tyzzer (2019, Ashleigh Barty) and Piotr Sierzputowski (2020, Iga Swiatek).

As they first worked together in 2017 during Muguruza’s title race at the championships, Wimbledon, Martínez and Muguruza rekindled their partnership in 2020 and together took Muguruza’s game to new heights in 2021. This year, they reached five WTA Finals, winning titles at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships and Chicago Fall Tennis Classic, and ended the year by winning the Billie Jean King Trophy in the AKRON WTA Finals in Guadalajara as well as their first season year-end in the Top 5 since 2017 at No. 3 worldwide.

Peachy Kellmeyer Player Service Award: Kristie Ahn (United States)

Kristie Ahn wins the Peachy Kellmeyer Player Service Award for the second time in her career. She also received this honor in 2020 with members of the WTA Players Council. This award is voted on by her peers on tour and recognizes the work she has done to support her teammates as well as broader initiatives on behalf of the WTA. This award has been voted on by players since 1977 and has recognized athletes such as Chris Evert, Kim Clijsters, Pam Shriver and Venus Williams.

Ahn was previously a member of the WTA Players Council and now serves as the Player Council representative on the WTA Board of Directors.

Karen Krantzcke Prize for Sportsmanship: Carla Suárez Navarro (ESP)

Spain’s Carla Suárez Navarro has been elected by her fellow players on the circuit to receive the Karen Krantzcke Sportsmanship Award for the first time this year. This honor is bestowed on a player who behaves in a manner worthy of a professional sports figure and observes the rules of fair play, shows respect to others and is kind on and off the pitch. Launched in 1978, previous winners include Petra Kvitova, Elena Dementieva, Ana Ivanovic, Lindsay Davenport, Chris Evert, and Evonne Goolagong-Cawley.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.