Baseball wins three major awards and two stars

Baruch College baseball team recognized for outstanding season with five players and head coach Jose Torres be honored with season-ending awards voted on by CUNYAC baseball coaches.

Matthew Lawlor was voted pitcher of the year. The Long Island native dominated all season, especially against CUNYAC opposition where he won all six games he pitched against them. The four-time CUNYAC pitcher of the week went 6-1 on the mound with a 2.10 ERA, striking out 50 batters in 55.2 innings of work. He posted six all-game efforts, including all-game performances in a pair of playoff wins to lead the Bearcats to the CUNYAC title last weekend. For his efforts during the playoffs, he was also named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

Joseph Cocozza had a fantastic rookie campaign in 2022 and has been a huge cog in the Bearcats’ success this season. The Staten Island infielder hit .326 with 29 hits, 29 RBI and 33 runs scored. He also designed 15 steps and produced 11 stolen bases. He stepped up in conference play, hitting .385 against CUNYAC opponents with a .519 on-base percentage while being named CUNYAC MVP.

Pedro Tejada, Jr. was voted CUNYAC All-Star in a strong .299 rookie batting campaign with four home runs, five doubles, 27 RBIs and 28 total walks.

Brian Hwang was also voted CUNYAC All-Star in his highly productive rookie campaign scoring .356 with 12 RBIs, six doubles and two triples.

Luc Lombardi was named to CUNYAC’s All-Sportsmanship Team. Lombardi has not only been a central figure in this year’s Championship squad, but has also succeeded off the pitch with his hard work serving as an example to young players.

The head coach Jose Torres was voted coach of the year for the third time in his career. He led the team to its second straight CUNYAC title with an offense that scored eight or more points in 15 of 17 games leading to the championship win.

2022 baseball stars

Player of the Year: Joseph Cocozzabaruch

Launcher of the year: Matthew Lawlorbaruch

Rookie of the Year: John Creegan, CCNY

Coach of the Year: Jose Torresbaruch

Sportsmanship Award: Ismael Tatis, John Jay

Sports team: Luc Lombardi (Baruch), Jeremy Santos (Lehman), Angel Vega (CCNY)

All-Star Team
Nomar Rijo, INF, Lehman
Juan Maldonado, INF, John Jay
Michael Mauro, INF, John Jay
Jonathan Rivera, DE, CCNY
James Dean Johnstone, P, CCNY
Tran Hennessy, UT, Lehman
Christopher Nunez, INF, John Jay
Jeremy Santos, UT, Lehman

Pedro Tejada, Jr. UT, Baruch

Brian HwangINF, Baruch
Tyler DiBlasi, DE, CCNY
Eamon Maher, UT, Lehman


About Author

Comments are closed.