ETHS student newspaper wins 32 awards in state journalism competition


Journal produced by the students of Evanston Township High School The Evanstonian won 32 awards, including best overall publication for schools with more than 2,600 students, in the annual competition organized by the Illinois Journalism Education Association (IJEA).

The Evanstonian and ETHS students achieved first place, second place, third place and honorable mention awards in the following categories:

First place prize (13):

Best overall publication, The Evanstonian

Best hybrid publication, The Evanstonian

Best Reporting, Zachary Bahar, ETHS announces in-person experiences

Best In-Depth Story, Zachary Bahar, Lauren Dain, Jessica Sehgal, Bridget Baker, Kayla Drajpuch, Meg Houseworth, Stella Israelite & Zoe Kaufman, Trade-offs and sorting: students learn about mental health in e-learning

Best Personality Profile, Foster Ellen, From one circus family to another

Best Sports Report, Eli Cohen, Men’s basketball takes its first loss after a bad night of shooting

Best Staff Editorial, The Evanstonian Editorial Board, ETHS neglects the student experience

Best Serious Commentary, Nora Miller, Draw the house that could be

Best Reviewer, Quinn Hughes, Clothing and capitalist abstraction

Best Editorial Cartoon, Sabrina Barnes, Lame duck trump

Best Illustration, Sabrina Barnes, The fight for the seat: overtaking and the legacy of RBG

Best Center-Spread Stories Package, Zachary Bahar and Ellie Lind, “My crown, my sword:” Life in hijabi at ETHS

Best Overall Design, Nora Miller, February 22, 2021 issue

Second place prize (eight):

Best Sports Report, Eli Cohen, Women’s basketball wrestles offensively against top-ranked loss-making Simeon

Best Sports Report, Peter Barbato, ETHS alumnus minor Ligeur on baseball during pandemic

Best title, Jojo Wertheimer, Fashionable political figures

Best Alternative Storytelling, Zachary Bahar and Sari Oppenheimer, ETHS mock election results

Best Use of Social Media, Eli Cohen, Evanstonian twitter

Best Audio Journalism, Nora Miller and Zachary Bahar, Kit Chat: Episode 8: Evanston’s Next Four Years (and Beyond)

Best Website, Eden Drajpuch, The Evanstonian

Best COVID-19 Coverage, Bridget Baker, Jessica Sehgal, Lauren Dain, Meg Houseworth, Sofia Williams, Stella Israelite & Zachary Bahar, The question of e-learning

Third place prize (four):

Best Reporting, Nora Miller, Authentic Deliverance: Melting Gender Binary at ETHS

Best Humorous Commentary, Zachary Bahar, All the faces I know: The Office, the Evanstonian

Best Computer Graphics, Zachary Bahar, Timeline of the summer of activism

Best One Page Story Package, Ali Cutter, Lila Portis & Nora Miller, Students and staff pay tribute to Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Honorable mention (seven):

Best Reporting, Gabi Karlan, Combating environmental racism in Evanston

Best Sports Commentary, Kamau Ransom, My journey as a Division I football prospect during COVID-19

Best Humorous Commentary, Anika Radhakrishnan, How panel rooms are the blind dates of e-learning

Best Computer Graphics, Nora Miller, The four chords and the six conditions

Best One Page Story Pack, Ali Cutter, Lila Portis, Jojo Wertheimer & Nora Miller, Music that sums up this year

Best Front Page Design, Nora Miller, December 14, 2020 issue

Best Audio Journalism, Nora Miller and Zachary Bahar, Kit Chat, Episode 3: Student political engagement and climate activism

The Illinois Journalism Education Association sponsors a number of awards and competitions to recognize the efforts of high school journalism educators and their students, as well as school administrators and members of the public who support school journalism. More information is available on the IJEA website.

Submitted story.


About Author

Leave A Reply