Marshall almost wins 11-5A football awards


The Marshall football team repeated themselves as the undefeated Division II District 11-5A champion and won all but one of the league’s awards, as voted on by their coaches.

Junior quarterback Ja’Koby Banks was honored as 11-5A MVP, joined on the award list by teammates Chris Marshall (Offensive MVP), Adari Haulcy (Defensive MVP) and Terrence Fontenot (Player Special Teams of the Year) and Coach James Williams.

The Buffalos finished 10-1, passing their opponents 602-111 and registering six shutouts in eight district games. Banks led an efficient and explosive offense, completing 65.8% of his passes for 1,262 yards, 20 touchdowns and two interceptions. He was also Marshall’s top rusher with 1,008 yards and 17 touchdowns during the regular season, averaging 18.0 yards per attempt.

Marshall led the Buffalos with 11 touchdown receptions, scoring on all but two of his receptions while amassing 454 yards. He totaled 1,008 yards and 17 touchdowns as a junior. Fellow receiver Fontenot scored three scrum touchdowns and another on a punt return, averaging 42.0 yards per punt return and 21.5 per punt return.

Haulcy had 13 tackles and three interceptions, a team high, to bring his career total to 12. He returned two for touchdowns and scored on a fumble return.

Sterling first-year linebacker Jaylin Williams was voted 11-5A Newcomer of the Year. Williams recorded 38 tackles, five for a loss, and recovered two fumbles to help the Raiders finish 6-5 with a playoff berth. Galena Park and Madison completed the 11-5A playoff qualifiers.

The Buffalos averaged 14.6 yards per game with the help of first team linemen Demetrius Charles, Camden Williams, Anthony Chatman, Jaron Wallace and Christian Williams. Running back Aaron McGowen (410 yards, 6 TDs) and wide receiver Rundrick Dudley (321 yards, 10 TDs overall) completed the offensive selections for Marshall’s first team.

The Buffalos almost put a whole starting defense in the first team, including linemen Laurence Tillman (38 tackles, 6.5 sacks, 2 FF, 2 FR), Korrell Harris (31 tackles), Godfrey Johnson (30 tackles) , 2 sacks) and Logan Granville (26 tackles, 1.5 sacks).

Marshall’s first team linebackers were Caleb Cossey (50 tackles) and Jordan Sample (55 tackles, 9 TFL, 2 sacks).

Buffalo Safeties defensive backfield Jacobe Chester (12 tackles, 1 INT) and Jah’Koby Strong-White (22 tackles), and corners Chris Stephens (15 tackles, 3 FR) and Mike Patterson (16 tackles, INT, 2 FR, 3 separation passes) is also part of the leading group.

Willowridge was 4-4 in the league to narrowly miss a place in the playoffs. The Eagles notched four strong points in the first team 11-5A as wide receiver Marxquise Hayes, outside linebacker Kaleb Williams (10 tackles), inside linebacker Raymond Olvera (16 tackles, 3 TFL, 2 FR) and punter Rogelio Gonzalez (37.0 per punt, long 59, 10 inside 20) made the list.

Hayes played on both sides of the ball, leading the Eagles with seven interceptions to come with a high of 315 yards and five touchdowns on 19 receptions.


MVP: Ja’Koby Banks, Jr., QB, Marshall

Offensive MVP: Chris Marshall, Sr., WR, Marshall

Defensive MVP: Adari Haulcy, Sr., DB, Marshall

Special Teams Player of the Year: Terrence Fontenot, Sr., WR, Marshall

Newcomer of the year: Jaylin Williams, Fr., OLB, Sterling

Coach of the Year: James Williams, Marshall

First team


Damon Jones, Sr., QB, Madison

Chase Devaughn, Jr., RB, Madison

Aaron McGowen, Sr., RB, Marshall

Jose Barrientos, Sr., FB, Galena Park

Chris Marshall, Sr., WR, Marshall

Terrence Fontenot, Sr., WR, Marshall

Marxquise Hayes, Soph., WR, Willowridge

Rundrick Dudley, Sr., WR, Marshall

Kevin Destin, Sr., WR, Austin

Herman Daniels, Sr., WR, Sterling

Elijah Hill, Sr., WR, Madison

Bernardo Vasquez, Sr., TE, Galena Park

LaQuincy Steamer, Sr., OL, Sterling

Bryan Chavarria, Sr., OL, Galena Park

Demetrius Charles, Sr., OL, Marshall

Camden Williams, Sr., OL, Marshall

Anthony Chatman, Jr., OL, Marshall

Jaron Wallace, Jr., OL, Marshall

Isaak Barboza, Sr., OL, Galena Park

Théophile Nsabimana, Jr., OL, Sharpstown

Christian Williams, Sr., OL, Marshall


Laurence Tillman, Sr., DT, Marshall

Korrell Harris, Sr., DT, Marshall

Matthew Chevis, Sr., DT, Sterling

Josiah McGaskey Sweet, Sr., DT, Madison

Leo Garcia, Sr., DT, Galena Park

Godfrey Johnson, Sr., DE, Marshall

Logan Granville, Jr., DE, Marshall

LaQuincy Steamer, Sr., DE, Sterling

Caleb Cossey, Sr., ILB, Marshall

Raymond Olvera, Sr., ILB, Willowridge

Ray Quintanilla, Sr., ILB, Galena Park

Joseph Amaya, Sr., ILB, Waltrip

Jordan Sample, Jr., OLB, Marshall

Ja’Shawn Baines, Sr., OLB, Galena Park

Kaleb Williams, Jr., OLB, Willowridge

Jaylin Williams, Fr., OLB, Sterling

Jacobe Chester, Sr., S, Marshall

Jah’Koby Strong-White, Sr., S, Marshall

Kashala Kapyamba, Sr., S, Sharpstown

Chris Stephens, Sr., CB, Marshall

Mike Patterson, Jr., CB, Marshall

Jacob Myers, Sr., CB, Sterling

Special teams

Auner Padilla, Sr., K, Madison

Rogelio Gonzalez, Jr., P, Willowridge

Isaac Covarrubias, Sr., DS, Galena Park

Second team


Jaylon Davis, Sr., QB, Sterling

Javin Chatman, Sr., RB, Willowridge

Jordan Balderas, Soph., RB, Galena Park

Amarion Kelly, Sr., RB, Galena Park

Khalen Sam, Sr., RB, Waltrip

Joseph Amaya, Sr., FB, Waltrip

Travis Willis, Soph., WR, Willowridge

Dashawn Gagnon, Sr., WR, Austin

Shaun Crawford, Jr., WR, Waltrip

Jaydon Johnson, Sr., WR, Marshall

Ke’Von Misher, Jr., WR, Marshall

Jacorian Hall, Jr., WR, Madison

Quentin Iles, Soph., TE, Willowridge

Landon Green, Sr., TE, Sterling

Steven Olvera, Sr., OL, Willowridge

Claude Williams, Sr., OL, Willowridge

Abel Gonzalez, Sr., OL, Marshall

Josiah McGaskey Sweet, Sr., OL, Madison

Joseph Buggs, Soph., OL, Madison

Maurion Williams Jack, Sr., OL, Madison

Mathew Pico, Sr., OL, Waltrip

Matthew Chevis, Sr., OL, Sterling

Korey Dupree, Soph., OL, Madison

Joyce Badibanga, Jr., OL, Madison


Tim Marshall, Jr., DT, Galena Park

Steven Olvera, Sr., DT, Willowridge

Reginald Willis, Jr., DT, Marshall

Fechal Kouldiati, Sr., DT, Sharpstown

Isaac Covarrubias, Sr., DT, Galena Park

Trent Thomas, Jr., DE, Marshall

Maurion Williams Jack, Sr., DE, Madison

Walter Ward, Sr., DE, Austin

Mathew Adekiya, Jr., DE, Waltrip

René Urbina, Sr., ILB, Marshall

Sebastian Bernal, Soph., ILB, Galena Park

Garrett Green, Jr., ILB, Sterling

Micah Lovelady, Sr., ILB, Madison

Ryan Simpson, Soph., OLB, Marshall

Victor Gutierez, Sr., OLB, Galena Park

Elijah Hill, Sr., OLB, Madison

Tulio Nunez, Jr., OLB, Willowridge

Jacorian Hail, Jr., S, Madison

Donovan Jackson, Jr., S, Marshall

Marxquise Hayes, Soph., S, Willowridge

Joe Ayala, Sr., S, Galena Park

JaQwailin Williams, Sr., S, Sharpstown

A’marick Wilson, Jr., CB, Austin

Travis Willis, Soph., CB, Willowridge

Bobby Powell, Sr., CB, Madison

Special teams

Jose Galaraza, Sr., K, Galena Park

Auner Padilla, Sr., P, Madison

Joseph Amaya, Sr., DS, Waltrip

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.