Nicholas Britell has 3 nods at Society of Composers & Lyricists Awards – Billboard


Nicholas Britell is the top nominee at the Third Annual SCL Awards, presented by the Society of Composers & Lyricists. Britell received three nominations – best score for a studio film for the Netflix film Do not seek, best song in a musical or comedy for “Just Look Up” from that movie, and best TV music for HBO’s Succession.

To explore

See the latest videos, graphics and news

Germaine Franco, Jonny Greenwood, Scott Mescudi (better known as Kid Cudi) and Diane Warren each received two nominations.

The awards are slated to be presented Feb. 1 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, with Emmy winner Darren Criss as the host – although SCL’s announcement includes a caveat, “COVID permitting. “

Oscar-nominated composer Carter Burwell and Oscar-winning filmmakers Joel Coen and Ethan Coen are set to receive the Collaborative Spirit Award. This award to composers and filmmakers who have worked together harmoniously is the most distinctive honor of the SCL Awards. Burwell and the Coen brothers have collaborated on 17 films including Raising Arizona, The Big Lebowski, oh brother, where are you?, No country for old men, Fargo, and Macbeth’s tragedy, which was directed and adapted by Joel Coen.

The event is expected to include musical performances by Grammy winner Judith Hill (20 feet of fame) as well as Grammy-nominated songwriters Abigail Barlow and Emily Bear Bridgerton: The Unofficial Musical, which is nominated for Best Musical Theater Album. A musical tribute will accompany the prize for the spirit of collaboration.

Seven awards will be given for music in visual media (film, television, streaming, interactive) in addition to the David Raksin Award for Emerging Talent. This latest award is named after the Oscar-nominated film composer (Amber forever, separate tables) who died in 2004.

The Society of Composers & Lyricists (SCL) is the premier organization for professional composers and lyricists in film, television, video games and musical theater. The organization focuses on education and addresses creative, technological, legal and newsworthy issues affecting music for the visual media community. For more information, visit the SCL website.

Here is the full list of nominations for the SCL Awards.

Studio movie:

Nicolas Britell, Do not seek, Netflix

Hans Zimmer, Dune, Warner Bros.

Germaine Franco, Encanto, Walt Disney Images

Alexandre Desplat, The French dispatch, Projector images

Jonny Greenwood, The power of the dog, Netflix

Independent film:

Kubilay Uner, American Traitor: The Sally Axis Trial, Vertical entertainment

Daniel Hart, The green knight, A24

Rachel Portman, Julia, Storyville Films / CNN

Alberto Iglesias, Parallel mothers, Sony Pictures Classics

Jonny Greenwood, Spencer, Neon / Subject Studios

Musical / comedy song:

Nicholas Britell, Ariana Grande, Scott Mescudi, Taura Stinson, “Just Look Up”, Do not seek, Netflix

Jamie Hartman, Jennifer Hudson, Carole King, “Here I Am (Singing Home)”, Respect, MGM / United Artists

Amie Doherty, “Intrepid”, Untamed spirit, Dreamworks Animation

Kris Bowers, Siedah Garrett, “Together to the End”, Dear Whites, Netflix

Lin-Manuel Miranda, “Home all summer long”, In the heights, Warner Bros.

Dramatic / documentary song:

Billie Eilish, Finneas O’Connell, “No Time to Die”, No time to die, MGM / United Artists

Diane Warren, “In a way you do it”, Four good days, Vertical entertainment

Rufus Wainwright, “Secret Sister”, Rebel hearts, Discovery +

Diane Warren, “(I’ll never) tame you”, Mustangs: the wild horses of America, Virgil Films

Shawn Carter, Scott Mescudi, Jeymes Samuel, “Guns Go Bang”, The more they fall, Netflix


Nathalie Holt, Loki, Disney +

Jung Jae-il, Squid game, Netflix

Nicolas Britell, Succession, HBO

Christophe Beck, Wandavision, Disney

Cristabel Tapia de Veer, The white lotus, Apple


Austin Wintory, Elite alien fireteam, Cold iron

Hildur Guđnadóttir & Sam Slater, Battlefield 2042, CE Digital Illusions, Electronic Arts

Germaine Franco, Kung Fu Panda: Wonderland, Universal Beijing Resort & Dreamworks Animation

David Raksin Prize:

Joy Ngaiw, To blush, Apple TV +

Anne-Kathrin Dern, The Claus family, Netflix

Stephanie Economou, Jupiter’s legacy, Netflix


About Author

Comments are closed.