Nikola Jokic wins 2020-21 Kia NBA MVP award


Nikola Jokic was the big winner, receiving 91 of the first 101 ballots.

NEW YORK, June 8, 2021 – Denver Nuggets center Nikola Jokić is the recipient of the Maurice Podoloff Trophy as the 2020-21 Kia NBA MVP, the NBA announced today.

With the first Kia NBA MVP Award of his career, Jokić becomes the first player to earn the honor as a member of the Nuggets. He is also the first Serbian player to be selected as an NBA MVP and joins Dirk Nowitzki (Germany) and Giannis Antetokounmpo (Greece) as European MVP winners.

A second round pick selected 41st overall by Denver in the 2014 NBA Draft, Jokić is the least drafted player to be named NBA MVP except for triple MVP Moses Malone, who was not selected in the NBA Draft. NBA. The previous least drafted players to win the award were double MVPs Antetokounmpo and Steve Nash, both selected with the 15e overall choice in their respective drafts.

Jokić received 91 first-place votes and scored 971 points in total from a global panel of 100 sports writers and broadcasters, as well as the fan vote for the Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award of 101 votes. Philadelphia 76ers center Joel Embiid (586 points) finished in second, followed by Golden State Warriors goaltender Stephen Curry (453 points) in third place, Milwaukee Bucks forward Antetokounmpo (348 points) in fourth place and Phoenix Suns goaltender Chris Paul (139 points). ) in fifth place.

Jokic named 2020-21 Kia NBA MVP

Ernie and the guys congratulate Nikola Jokic and talk with him about his journey, his supporters and his MVP season.

Players were awarded 10 points for each first-place vote, seven points for each second-place vote, five points for each third-place vote, three points for each fourth-place vote, and one point for each fifth-place vote.

In his sixth NBA season, Jokić played all 72 games and averaged a career-high 26.4 points, 10.9 rebounds, a career-high 8.4 assists and 1.32 steals in 34 , 8 minutes. With his season averages, Jokić finished 12e in the NBA in points, ninth in rebounds, sixth in assists and 22sd in flight. He is the third player in NBA history to average at least 26.0 points, 10.0 rebounds and 8.0 assists in a season, joining Oscar Robertson and Russell Westbrook.

Jokić has scored 732 field goals in the NBA’s lead and shot 56.6% from the field, 38.8% from three points and a career-high 86.8% from the free throw line. He led the NBA in double-doubles with 60 and placed second in triple-double with 16. Jokić set career highs in one game with 50 points (against the Sacramento Kings on February 6); rebounds with 22 (against the Suns on Jan 23); assists with 18 (against the Rockets on December 28); and flies with seven (against the Brooklyn Nets on Jan.12).

Behind Jokić, Denver set a 47-25 record and clinched the third seed in the Western Conference for the 2021 NBA Playoffs. The Nuggets finished with the fifth-highest single-season winning percentage in franchise history (.653).

Selected NBA All-Star for the third consecutive season, Jokić has been named Kia NBA Western Conference Player of the Month twice (December / January and March) and NBA Western Conference Player of the Week three times (Weeks 5 , 6 and 13). ).

Jokić, 26, has played his six NBA seasons with Denver, averaging 18.5 points, 9.8 rebounds and 6.0 assists in 453 career games. This season he has broken franchise records for career doubles and triple doubles. He also became the first Nuggets player to pitch an NBA All-Star game since 2011.

For the 12e consecutive season, the NBA and Kia America gave fans the opportunity to vote for the Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award. The fan vote, conducted online and via Twitter, counted as one vote to determine the winner.

The Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award is named in honor of Maurice Podoloff, who was the first commissioner of the NBA from 1946 until his retirement in 1963. Podoloff was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 1974 .

The voting results for the 2020-21 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player award are below. The ballot was compiled by the independent accounting firm Ernst & Young LLP. The complete ballots for each elector will be posted at after announcing all end-of-season rewards.

Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Winners

1955-56 – Bob Pettit, Saint-Louis
1956-57 – Bob Cousy, Boston
1957-58 – Bill Russell, Boston
1958-59 – Bob Pettit, Saint-Louis
1959-60 – Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia
1960-61 – Bill Russell, Boston
1961-62 – Bill Russell, Boston
1962-63 – Bill Russell, Boston
1963-64 – Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati
1964-65 – Bill Russell, Boston
1965-66 – Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia
1966-67 – Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia
1967-68 – Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia
1968-69 – Wes Unseld, Baltimore
1969-70 – Willis Reed, New York
1970-71 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee
1971-72 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee
1972-73 – Dave Cowens, Boston
1973-74 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee
1974-75 – Bob McAdoo, Buffalo
1975-76 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, LA Lakers
1976-77 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, LA Lakers
1977-78 – Bill Walton, Portland
1978-79 – Moses Malone, Houston
1979-80 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, LA Lakers
1980-81 – Julius Erving, Philadelphia
1981-82 – Moses Malone, Houston
1982-83 – Moses Malone, Philadelphia
1983-84 – Larry Bird, Boston
1984-85 – Larry Bird, Boston
1985-86 – Larry Bird, Boston
1986-87 – Magic Johnson, LA Lakers
1987-88 – Michael Jordan, Chicago
1988-89 – Magic Johnson, LA Lakers
1989-90 – Magic Johnson, LA Lakers
1990-91 – Michael Jordan, Chicago
1991-92 – Michael Jordan, Chicago
1992-93 – Charles Barkley, Phoenix
1993-94 – Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1994-95 – David Robinson, San Antonio
1995-96 – Michael Jordan, Chicago
1996-97 – Karl Malone, Utah
1997-98 – Michael Jordan, Chicago
1998-99 – Karl Malone, Utah
1999-00 – Shaquille O’Neal, LA Lakers
2000-01 – Allen Iverson, Philadelphia
2001-02 – Tim Duncan, San Antonio
2002-03 – Tim Duncan, San Antonio
2003-04 – Kevin Garnett, Minnesota
2004-05 – Steve Nash, Phoenix
2005-06 – Steve Nash, Phoenix
2006-07 – Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
2007-08 – Kobe Bryant, LA Lakers
2008-09 – LeBron James, Cleveland
2009-10 – LeBron James, Cleveland
2010-11 – Derrick Rose, Chicago
2011-12 – LeBron James, Miami
2012-13 – LeBron James, Miami
2013-14 – Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City
2014-15 – Stephen Curry, Golden State
2015-16 – Stephen Curry, Golden State
2016-17 – Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City
2017-18 – James Harden, Houston
2018-19 – Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee
2019-20 – Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee
2020-21 – Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets


About Author

Leave A Reply