San Diego Music Awards define artists for 2021; nominees include Gregory Page, Rebecca Jade and POD


The nominees for the 2021 edition of the San Diego Music Awards have been announced. They include artists from the region of national and international renown such as Switchfoot, Jason mraz, POD and the great jazz Charles McPherson.

The artists of this year’s August 24 event at the Humphreys Concerts by the Bay will all make their San Diego Music Awards debut. They include Electric mud, Brisa Lauren, Marujah, Chickenbone Slim and The Biscuits, The Frets and Ed kornhauser.

This contrast is largely due to the design, according to Kevin Hellman, who founded the awards in 1991 and held the 2020 edition online due to the COVID-19 shutdown live events.

“I look at our August event as a reopening of the local music scene, so I really wanted to book artists who have never performed before,” Hellman told the Union-Tribune on Tuesday.

“That doesn’t mean I haven’t called Jason Mraz and Switchfoot. But they’re both hoping to go on tour again in August, so it works even better to make it a live, local event. This will be the first meeting with many of our local musicians at the same location in quite some time.

Acclaimed troubadour Gregory Page is this year’s top nominee, with nominations for Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Best Video and Best Pop Album. The Carlsbad group Aviator Stash has three nominations.

Among the artists with two nominations each, there is Mraz, Rebecca Jade, Switchfoot, Whitney shay, Electric Mud, The Frets, Coral Bells, Casey Hensley and keyboardist Ed Kornhauser, the only artist this year nominated for both Album of the Year and Best Jazz Album.

The recipient of the Country Dick Montana Lifetime Achievement Award 2021 has yet to be announced. Due to the pandemic, there is no Artist of the Year category this year.

“Past Artist of the Year winners were chosen primarily on the basis of their live performances,” Hellman said. “So, in place of Artist of the Year, we’ve added six categories for best song, which lend themselves to what musicians have been doing for the past 14 months: staying home, writing and recording.”

Online voting will begin on May 15 at noon and will continue until June 30 at, with a limit of one vote per person per day.

Tickets for the awards show and the August 24 concert at Humphreys will go on sale Monday at General admission tickets cost $ 35 each, while reserved seats at the VIP table cost $ 100 each.

All proceeds go to the Guitars for Schools program of the San Diego Music Foundation. The awards are presented under the auspices of the nonprofit foundation, which to date has raised $ 646,000 for Guitars for Schools.

Singer Whitney Shay, winner of multiple San Diego music awards, is nominated again this year.

(Howard Lipin / Howard Lipin / The San Diego Union-Tribune)

Nominated for the 2021 San Diego Music Awards

For a full list of nominees in all categories, visit

Album of the year

Alfred Howard, “Written Vol.1”

Aviator Stash, “PSIYH”

Casey Hensley, “Good As Gone”

Ed Kornhauser, “The Short Years”

Electric mud, “Communication”

Gregory Page, “A Hell of Memory”

Whitney Shay, “Get Up!”

Song of the year

Aviator Stash, “Hype”

Gregory Page, “Green Lights & Blue Skies”

Rebecca Jade (with Jason Mraz), “Bad Wolves”

SM Familia, “Rise Up”

Switchfoot (with Jenn Johnson), “Joy Invisible”

The frets, “Tell”

The Sully Band, “Never Gonna Give Up”

Video of the year

Gregory Page, “Right now, not tomorrow”

Heavy Hawaii, “Boy Don’t Drown”

POD, “Christmas Lullaby”

Plunderbund, “Home”

Rebecca Jade (with Jason Mraz), “Bad Wolves”

Switchfoot, “Live from a hot air balloon”

The Monroes, “Rosemary’s daughter”


About Author

Leave A Reply