SHS tennis hands out year-end awards


Sandpoint High School’s tennis team presented its year-end awards on Wednesday, June 8.

Freshmen Jacob Dawson and Aubrey Knowles won “Rookie of the Year” honors.

Both Dawson and Knowles have spent time browsing Sandpoint’s range.

Knowles saw mixed doubles action and Dawson spent time playing singles and doubles.

The number one singles award(s) went to Evan Wiley and Neva Reseska.

Reseska was an integral part of the women’s roster that went unbeaten in 2022.

She won a state bid in 2022 but ultimately did not participate in the tournament.

However, she is only in her second year, so she will have two more years to earn a place on the podium.

Wiley also earned a spot in the year-end tournament and steadily improved as a member of the Sandpoint tennis team.

Seniors Tyler Korn and Denali Terry won the “Outstanding Athlete” award.

Juniors Aden Heitz and Elly Pincher won the “Spirit Award”, followed by Patch Howard and Owen Larson who won the “Leadership Award”.

Seniors Caleb Bradshaw and Olivia Petruso won for their classroom work, winning the “Scholastic Achievement award.”

Mya Vorhies, Reseska, Pincher, Knowles, Maile Evans, Dawson, Owen Larson and Ivan Steinbachs also took home a share of the prize by achieving a 3.75 to 4.0 GPA.

The “Most Improved” award went to two other athletes who did a great job completing the Bulldogs’ varsity roster, sophomores Noah Spinney and Sydney Webb.

The “most consistent” award could have gone to almost anyone in Sandpoint’s roster, but it went to junior Adrian Doty.

Doty spent time at number three in singles and was a force there for the Bulldogs.

Maise Brazill also picked up an award for getting the most wins this season.

The junior lost just one game throughout the regular season, splitting time between the number one and number two singles.

Finally, to close the evening, the “Team MVP” prize was awarded.

It was given to the two seniors who made a deep run at the state tournament as part of a doubles team.

Seniors Cayden Kindred and Petrsuo won the Bulldogs MVP award.


About Author

Comments are closed.