Special Olympians shine | Mount Airy News


The Surry Arts Council will present ‘The Wizard of Oz’, directed by Madeline Matanick, this weekend.

“This production is dedicated to the memory of Betty Lynn, the girl from Mount Airy in Kansas City who clicked her heels and followed her rainbow to Hollywood, Mayberry and Mount Airy,” the arts council said. about production. Lynn, known nationwide as Thelma Lou of The Andy Griffith Show, died on Saturday

The play will begin Friday at 7:30 p.m. at the Andy Griffith Playhouse. Additional shows will be on Saturdays at 3 p.m. and 7:30 p.m., and the last show will be on Sundays at 3 p.m. has entertained audiences for generations.

When a tornado rips through Kansas, Dorothy and her dog Toto are taken to their home in the magical land of Oz. There they follow the yellow brick road to the Emerald City to meet the Wizard, and along the way meet the Scarecrow, who needs a brain, the Tinman, who lacks a heart, and the Cowardly Lion, who is looking for courage. Together they encounter The Wizard, who instructs the group to bring him the Wicked Witch of the West’s broomstick, in order to win her aid and send Dorothy home to Kansas.

The production includes classic songs, such as “Over the Rainbow”, “Munchkinland (Ding Dong! The Witch Is Dead)”, “If I Had A Brain/Heart/The Nerve”, “We’re Off To See The Wizard (Follow The Yellow Brick Road)”, “The Jitterbug” and “The Merry Old Land of Oz”.

The production stars Cassidy Mills as Dorothy Gale, Aspen Jackson as Glinda/Aunt Em, Tom Beckom as Uncle Henry, Scott Carpenter as Scarecrow/Hunk, David Timm as Tinman/Hickory, Katelyn Gomez as Cowardly Lion/Zelda, Amanda Barnard. as the Wicked Witch of the West / Almira Gultch and David Nielsen as the Wizard of Oz / Professor Marvel, with Jason Hoerter as General Winkie, Corey Barr as Nikko and Miss Mac Banfield as Toto.

Munchkins Alek Riggs, Anne Rachel Sheppard, Atticus Hawks, Brooke Nichols, Carleigh Jo Mills, Chloe Vinson, Claire Youell, Elijah Garcia, Ellie Kniskern, Isabell Hoerter, Jackie Delacruz, Juliet Barnard, Kaitlyn Holladay, Maddie Youell, Maggie Wallace, MaKenna Holladay , Makenna Wall, Morgan Shipley, Noelle Snow and Remi DeVore, as well as Winkies Cooper Mauck, Gregory Matthews, Maddie Youell, Noah Wilkes and Thomas Holladay, Crows Casey Mitchell, Corey Barr, Django Burgess and Walker York, Trees Ashley Mills, Molly Easter , Raegan Amos and Tess Ramey, and Flying Monkeys Alek Riggs, Carleigh Jo Mills, Isabell Hoerter and Juliet Barnard.

Acting as Ozians/ Poppies/ Ensemble are Abigail Gerber, Anne Rachel Sheppard, Ashley Mills, Ava Chrismon, Carline Williams, Casey Mitchell, Charlotte Banfield, Cooper Mauck, Corey Barr, Django Burgess, Elle Pomeroy, Emily Jones, Gregory Matthews, Hannah Hiatt , Jackie Delacruz, Jason Hoerter, Julia-Ann Banfield, Juliet Barnard, Kaitlyn Holladay, Kinston Nichols, LillyRuth Beck, Maddie Youell, Mae Danley, Michael Senter, Molly Easter, Morgan Shipley, Noah Wilkes, Raegan Amos, Remi DeVore, Sierra Nichols , Tess Ramey, Thomas Holladay, Walker York and Zinnia Burgess.

Director Madeline Matanick, Music Director Jane Tesh, Technical Director and Choreographer Tyler Matanick, Stage Manager Emily Mauck, Assistant Stage Manager Melissa Venable, Assistant Director Jordan Dover, Dance Captains Julia-Ann Banfield and LillyRuth Beck, lighting designer are part of the production team. Paul Denny, props master Katy Denny, makeup artist Susan Lawrence, lighting designer Patrick MacDaniel and Max Barnard backstage, with sound effects by Chad Barnard at the Falling Trees recording studio and costumes by Amanda Barnard, Madeline Matanick and Shelby Coleman.

The Pit Orchestra is made up of Jane Tesh and Teresa Martin on keyboards, Darrell Beck on conductor, Brady Reed on percussion, Pam Parker on flute and Bobby Heller on clarinet/saxophone.

Masks are mandatory for all spectators. For tickets or other show information, visit www.surryarts.org or call the Surry Arts Council at 336-786-7998.


About Author

Comments are closed.