St. Augustine Democratic Club awards scholarships to local students


St. Augustine Record USA TODAY NETWORK

The St. Augustine Democratic Club Scholarship Committee recently awarded three students the first Annette Cappella Memorial Scholarship of $ 500 each.

The scholarship fund was established in honor of Cappella after her death on March 2. An educator for 30 years, Cappella was involved with the Democratic Party after her retirement in 2000, as well as many other community organizations.

She was secretary and president of the St. Augustine Democratic Club, and secretary, vice-president, president and member of the state committee of the St. Johns Democratic Party. She has also served on several committees of the Florida Democratic Party.

The scholarships were offered to students of Pedro Menendez and St. Augustine High Schools and were awarded to the following students:

Elijah Bauer, of St. Augustine High School, will be attending the University of North Florida and is eventually considering going to law school to become a copyright lawyer.

Ashton O’Shell, of St. Augustine High School, plans to attend the University of Central Florida to study computer science with a minor in cybersecurity or security systems.

Cailene Bush of Pedro Menendez High School plans to study political science and public policy at North Carolina State University as part of the honors program and would eventually like to attend law school.

The scholarship committee includes chairman Kim Elmore, Ph.D., Shirley Hinnau, Bob Hellermann, Gordon Russell, John Pilecki and Nell Toensmann.

The Annette Cappella Memorial Scholarships will be awarded annually. Donations can be made to support this initiative through the Saint-Augustin Democratic Club. For more information, email [email protected]


About Author

Leave A Reply