Team Summit presents the Gene Gillis awards


This year’s Team Summit Winter Sports Club presented the Gene Gillis Award to freeskier Evelyn Harris, downhill skier Camden Palmquist and snowboarder Eli Stroker.

The prize rewards the top athlete in terms of outstanding results in each of the disciplines of the winter sports club.

Stroker was nominated for the snowboard award along with Caleb Dhawornvej and Ellie Weiler. Harris was nominated for the freeski award along with Alex Thisted and Kayla Hanson. And Palmquist was nominated for the Alpine Award along with Ella Snyder and Kai Boyer.

Gillis was an Olympian and founder of the Copper Mountain Race Team in the 1970s before starting the Summit Race Team with Mark Jones, Corky McDonald in the 1980s. The Summit Race team first provided alpine ski training full time at Summit.

As a reader of Summit Daily News, you make our work possible.

More than ever, your financial support is essential to help us keep our communities informed about the evolution of the coronavirus pandemic and its impact on our residents and our businesses. Each contribution, regardless of its size, will make a difference.

Your donation will be used exclusively to support quality local journalism.


About Author

Leave A Reply