Team Wilson defeats Team Stewart; Sylvia Fowles dunks; Kelsey Plum wins MVP title


The 2022 WNBA All-Star Game saw the dispatch of some legends as Team Wilson defeated Team Stewart 134-112 at Chicago’s Wintrust Arena, home of the 2021 champion. Chicago sky. Las Vegas Aces star Kelsey Plum has been voted All-Star Game MVP. All-Star weekend began with New York Liberty star Sabrina Ionescu winning the Skills Challenge and Chicago Sky star Allie Quigley winning a record fourth 3-point contest on Saturday. No NBA or WNBA player had ever won a 3-point contest more than three times.

WNBA All-Star Weekend

Who are the 2022 WNBA All-Stars?

The two All-Star teams were determined by voting from fans, players and the media. Then the captains, Wilson and Stewart, picked the teams in a draft format from the starter pool and then the reserve pool. Here’s how the teams came together.

Team Wilson

Co-captain: Sylvia Fowles, Minnesota

Starters: Candice Parker, Chicago; Plum Kelsey, Las Vegas; Sabrina Ionescu, New York

Reservations: Jewell Loyd, Seattle; Kahleah Copper, Chicago; Skylar Diggins-Smith, Phoenix; Alyssa Thomas, Connecticut; Arike Ogunbowale, Dallas; Emma Meesseman, Chicago

Team Stewart

Co-captain: Sue BirdSeattle

Starters: Jackie Young, Las Vegas; Jonquel Jones, Connecticut; Nneka Ogwumike, Los Angeles

Reservations: Rhyne Howard, Atlanta; Dearica Hamby, Las Vegas; Courtney Vandersloot, Chicago; Ariel Atkins, Washington; Brionna Jones, Connecticut; Natasha Howard, New York

Stewart and Wilson swapped co-captains so Bird would be with teammate Storm and traded Ionescu and Ogwumike.

WNBA All-Star Game Rule Changes

The WNBA announced three special rules for Sunday’s game on Friday.

4 point shot: There will be four circles on the court beyond the 3-point line designated as the 4-point shooting zone.

20 second shot clock: The shot clock will be 20 seconds instead of the normal 24 seconds.

No free throws: If a player is awarded free throws, those attempts will not occur and instead the player will be credited with the maximum points available depending on the situation. However, during the last two minutes of the fourth quarter and during any period of overtime, players must attempt all free throws allowed.

Signage for the 2022 WNBA All-Star Game at the Richard J Daley Plaza fountain in Chicago. (Cassandra Negley/Yahoo Sports)


About Author

Comments are closed.