Who won the awards for a fabulous season


The New York Rangers present a number of team awards at the end of the season. Although not as prestigious as NHL awards, they are special for the players and their fans. Of course, we have high hopes for at least one league award because Igor Shesterkin is the favorite for the Vezina Trophy and if Gerard Gallant is not the winner of the Jack Adam Trophy, it will be a robbery. We’ve already reported that Chris Kreider is a deserving candidate for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy.

Here’s who won the team awards.

Players’ Player Award: Barclay Goodrow and Jacob Trouba

This one is perhaps the most meaningful for the players because they are the ones who vote for the winner. The Players’ Player Award is an annual award given to the player “who best exemplifies what it means to be a team player”. The prize has been awarded since the 1958-59 season.

The prize was awarded to two players, Barclay Goodrow and Jacob Trouba, both deserve this honor. It was the 10th time that the honor was given to two teammates, obviously the players couldn’t decide. Last year’s winner was Ryan Lindgren and he followed Jesper Fast who won the award for five consecutive seasons.

Rangers MVP: Igor Shesterkin

The Rangers MVP award is an annual award given to the team’s most valuable player, as determined by members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association who cover the Blueshirts. There were a few deserving candidates for this award, but Igor Shesterkin was a no-brainer choice although any other season it would have been Chris Kreider.

In addition to being the main candidate for the Vezina Trophy for his individual statistics, Shesterkin’s excellence has allowed his teammates to be aggressive offensively, knowing that he is there to support them. He succeeds Adam Fox, Artemi Panarin and Mika Zibanejad, the last three winners.

It has been awarded since the 1941-42 season. Henrik Lundqvist has won the award nine times, including seven consecutive years from 2007 to 2013. Let’s see if Shesterkin can continue a similar run.

John Halligan Good Guy Award: Ryan Strome

Named in honor of the former Rangers public relations director, the John Halligan Good Guy Award is an annual award which “recognizes a player for his cooperation with the media throughout the season”, as selected by the Rangers’ beat writers.

Ryan Strome won the award this year, another year when journalists were not allowed in the Rangers dressing room. Strome made frequent appearances at press conferences after games and practices and did not shy away from the limelight and tough questions after defeats. His frankness was refreshing and he stayed away from clichés.

Brendan Smith won the award last season, which has been awarded since the 1974-75 season. It was renamed in Halligan’s honor after his death in 2010. There have been no recipients of the award.

Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award: Chris Kreider

This award is voted for by fans and honors New York Police Officer Steven McDonald, who was shot and injured on July 12, 1986. The criteria is that it is given to the player who “goes above and beyond the call of Duty”. .” The deserved winner of the award was Chris Kreider.

Adam Fox was the winner last season after Mika Zibanejad won the award for two consecutive seasons. The award was established in the 1987-88 season.

Rod Gilbert “Mr. Ranger Award: Chris Kreider

This was the first year for the Rod Gilbert “Mr. Ranger” award from team management and awarded to the player “who best honors Rod’s legacy by exemplifying his leadership qualities on and off the ice and by making a significant humanitarian contribution to his community.” Chris Kreider was the first recipient of the award which was created to honor the late Rod Gilbert who was the face of the Blueshirts for decades.

Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award: Nils Lundkvist

This award is given to the top Rangers rookie in training camp, as selected by the media. Swedish defender Nils Lundkvist was the first winner in two years as there was no award last season due to the COVID pandemic. Lundkvist played 25 games for Rangers, but spent most of the season with the Hartford Wolf Pack, his first season after arriving in North America.

Adam Fox was the latest winner of the award in 2019. It is named after Lars-Erik Sjoberg, who was Rangers’ European head scout for eight years and has been awarded since 1988.

Our own reward

There can be no argument as to who won these awards. Sadly, the team stopped handing out a Rookie of the Year award in 2010 when the Rangers fan club folded. We will take this opportunity to award our own rookie of the year award to Braden Schneider.


About Author

Comments are closed.